Christmas Eve….from here!!

December 24, 2006

Well,

This is my first blog….ever.  Hope I don’t sound too stupid to start.

 I just wanted to acquaint myself with writing on-line.

First, why should you read this???  I have no idea.

Maybe, just maybe you want to see things through my eyes.

Although they are a bit old and are corrected, at this point, maybe you’ll see the world differently.

I am often asked to see the world differently….

As a teacher, I am often presented life through the eyes of youth.

As a science guy, I am presented life through the eyes of an observer.

As a husband, I am often presented life through the eyes of the mother of my child.

As a father, I am often presented life through the eyes of wonder.

 It will be as a teacher, scientist, husband, and father that you will get a glimpse of my life.

 

Your first peek, will be this Christmas Eve.

I find myself looking at a world that seems to be changing, as always.  I cannot count the

number of times I have sat looking at what seemed to be a new world.  The day of my

marriage, the birth of my child, my leaving the military, acheiving my degree, the start

of my teaching career…..all new worlds, for me at least.

But, through all of the changes internal and external that have accompanied nearly a half-

century of life, the world remains populated by people who seem to want what they have

 always wanted.

They have always wanted to matter.  They have always wanted to be important, to be loved.

Even in anger, it is often merely a cry to be noticed and to be taken seriously.  To be

accepted as they are without judgement.  Those who wish to judge only want it to

be understood that they are wise and have the authority to make judgements, yet often do not

wish to be judged themselves just appreciated.  Parents want kids to understand

their struggles.  Kids want parents to realize that times have indeed changed.  Families pulling

apart, not together.  At Christmas time we struggle to let others know how much we care….

Or, at least, how much we can spend.  Unfortunately, spending doesn’t equal concern or love.

Too often we find the young girl excited over the multi-carat engagement ring,

only to find a few years later an embittered woman with a ring to sell.  If the love matched the

cost shouldn’t the stars of Hollywood, the sporting world, and coporate America stay

married.  Our kids know the truth.  While they enjoy the gift, they realize that

the love and acceptance often isn’t there.

How can I show my child I love her on this important day?  I’m not sure.  I will be with her.

I am going to try to listen.  I will try to accept her as she is.  I may not succeed.

How can I show my wife I love her on this important day?  I’m not sure.  I will be with her.

I am going to try to listen.  I will try to accept her as she is.  I may not succeed.

 

I just hope that they can accept me: imperfect, fallable, insensitive, impatient, and often stupid,

and love me as I am.  I will try harder to earn their love as the days pass.

 

 

Leave a Reply

